Posted on Jun 10th, 2014 by audra
In these categories book review, Review

Book Title: The Murder Complex
Author: Lindsey Cummings
Release Date: June 10, 2014
Publisher: Greenwillow / HarperCollins
Source: Edelweiss

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

Life in the Shallows is beyond tough. There is a myriad of dangers to watch out for and Meadow has been trained well by her father to handle herself. Zephyr on the other hand has to do extremely hard work as an orphan of sorts. In typical YA fashion their worlds collide and neither are the same afterwards.

I had a pretty difficult time getting into the book at first, but once I got into a reading groove I was set. Honestly, the book cover really, really turned me off. It’s creepy but it just easily turned me off. I quickly got past that however and immersed myself in another crooked and corrupt book world.

Overall The Murder Complex was extremely fast paced and honestly rather terrifying. I wouldn’t recommend this book for those that may be squeemish around, well, murder. There were moments that I was really unable to read quick enough. I wanted to absorb every letter of every word as quick as possible so I could figure out what the heck was happening. On the other hand, there were moments I wanted to toss the book out the window. One of my biggest pet peeves for books set in the future are when weird curse words are made up. I just simply can’t stand it.

I will definitely be checking out the next book in the series from the library. The Murder Complex was a fun read that really kept my attention. I really enjoyed Meadow and Zephyr and will be looking forward to where the story goes next.

Order: Amazon|Barnes & Noble|IndieBound

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

No comments yet.